EMRC wins Australian Road Safety Award

Published: Thursday, 29 March 2018 at 9:35:15 AM

The Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC) ‘Share the Space’ campaign has been recognised as the nation’s top Local Government Initiative at the Australian Road Safety Awards presented in Melbourne on 21 March 2018.

Launched in August 2017, the campaign was a collaboration of nine local governments including the EMRC member councils, the Cities of Bayswater, Belmont, Kalamunda, Swan, the Town of Bassendean, the Shire of Mundaring and key transport stakeholders.

EMRC Chief Executive Officer Peter Schneider said that the provision of a safe, efficient and effective transport network in Perth's Eastern Region, where all road, public transport and active transport users feel safe and not exposed to harm when utilising or interacting with the network, is an ongoing major focus for the EMRC.

“The EMRC’s 10 Year Strategic Plan identifies transport as a priority and the EMRC’s Regional Integrated Transport Strategy includes actions and an integrated framework for addressing transport initiatives,” he said.

“The Share the Space campaign is one of those initiatives and aims to increase awareness of others using paths or roads, being courteous and improving safety of community members sharing transport routes including those who walk, jog, cycle or drive vehicles.”

The EMRC designed and developed a series of three short videos that were shared via social media and online by the member Councils as well the Town of Cambridge, City of Cockburn, City of Vincent, Bicycling WA and Westcycle.

The campaign also reached a wide metropolitan audience via advertising on the back of Transperth buses and a nine-day run in August and September 2017 on radio station Nova 93.7FM.For more information about the Share the Space visit www.sharethespace.com.au

Back to All News