The Regional Environment Strategy 2016 - 2020

The process for development of the Regional Environment Strategy involved consultation with member Councils and other key stakeholders (including Department of Water and Environmental Regulation, Cooperative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities, Water Corporation, W.A. Local Government Association, Department of Aboriginal Affairs, State NRM Office, Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions, Perth NRM and catchment groups) through surveys, interviews and two workshops delivered by consultants, Sustainable Development Facilitation Global.

With this Regional Environment Strategy, the EMRC and its member Councils will be one of the first organisations in Australia to progress regional environmental management under the global United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) framework. The SDGs emphasise critical aspects and opportunities for environment management within the context of wider objectives for development.

The document that describes the SDGs, the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, was adopted by 193 United Nations member states in September 2015 and was ratified by the Federal Government of Australia for implementation nationwide. The Global Taskforce of Local and Regional Governments actively participated in the consultations on the Agenda, successfully advocating for the inclusion of Sustainable Development Goal 11 on sustainable cities and human settlements and pushing for all goals to take into account local challenges and opportunities.

The seven SDGs particularly relevant to the environment in Perth's Eastern Region are:

  • Clean Water and Sanitation (SDG 6);
  • Affordable and Clean Energy (SDG 7);
  • Sustainable Cities and Communities (SDG 11);
  • Responsible Consumption & Production (SDG 12);
  • Climate Action (SDG 13);
  • Life on Land (SDG 15); and
  • Partnerships (SDG 17).

Regional Environment Strategy

To download the Regional Environment Strategy 2016-2020 click the link below:

Regional Environment Strategy 2016-2020

For further information please contact:

Wendy Harris - Chief Sustainability Officer